Application Technique Ulna 3 Finger Hand Cast

Indications:

  • Fractures of the 3rd to 5th finger and metacarpals.
  • Dislocations of the 3rd to 5th fingers.
  • Tendopathy.
  • Tendon injuries.
  • Soft tissue injuries.
  • Positioning splint.
  • Physio purposes.
Application: The materials should be pre-prepared to enable rapid application of the bandage. All the necessary materials should be placed within reach to avoid hold-ups in the procedure.

The patient should be in a position which is comfortable to him/her and the person applying the bandage. This may vary depending on the extent of the injury, the diagnosis, the treatment method and the patient's condition.

Materials required: 1 x 5 cm Delta Cast Conformable polyester support bandage and hydrogel-coated casting gloves, toweling tubular bandage, adhesive bandage, 2 cm wide strip of X-ray film, bandage scissors, felt-tip pen.

Photo 1:
The toweling tubular bandage is pulled over the fingers, hand and wrist to form a layer of padding underneath. A strip of unusable X-ray film is inserted on the radial side to help with the cutting. To improve stability in specific areas (e.g. in repositioning a dislocated 5th metatarsal bone capitulum fracture) a 2 to 4 layer strip of cast is applied around the palm. This increases the bonding of the layers and produces a rigid dressing in this specific area.

Photo 2:
The cast is wrapped around the fingers, hand and wrist using circular movements (about 2 to 3 layers). The cast should be applied relatively tightly, extending it by 50% to 70%. This increases the bonding of the layers and improves the fit of the dressing. The cast should be applied to beyond the finger tips. This will simplify any later correction of the position of the joints. In the area of the previously applied longuette there are up to 6 to 7 layers of cast.

Photo 3:
During the molding phase of four to six minutes, corrections of the joint positions or the repositioning of a fracture can be carried out. Any folds in the dressing can be smoothed out by pulling the surplus cast at both ends lengthwise.

Photo 4:
After unrolling the cast bandage the cutting lines are marked with a felt-tip pen and the cast opened along the strip of X-ray film using bandage scissors. It is then trimmed for individual fit. In the case of stable fractures the cast can be removed to do this, with unstable fractures the cast should be left on the patient.

Photo 5:
The finished 3 finger hand cast including the wrist in an intrinsic position (radial view).

Photo 6:
The finished 3 finger hand cast including the wrist in an intrinsic position (ulnar view).

Photo 7:
The cast can be shortened at any time by trimming using bandage scissors. Finished ulnar 3 finger hand cast in an intrinsic position without inclusion, therefore allowing the wrist to function fully.

Photos 5, 6 and 7 show the same cast.
In photo 7 the cast was trimmed later. Both variations can put in place on the patient with an adhesive bandage. (Not shown here). The small number of layers means that the cast remains semi-flexible and can be adjusted depending on the individual state of the swelling (looser or tighter). To do this, the adhesive bandage is removed and the cast altered for a perfect fit.

1.
2.
3.
4.
5.
6.
7.
Variant:

Ulnar 3-finger cast without wrist inclusion: Here the proximal part of the cast gets cut with bandage scissors, so that the wrist retains its full function.

3-finger sandwich cast: The cast gets shortened proximaly, up to the finger base joints. This allows for an uninhibited movement of the wrist, as well as the fingers in their base joints.

Middle-hand cast: The cast gets shortened in the distal part up to the base or middle joints of the fingers. This allows for finger mobility.


All variants can get cut individually from the original cast, which got wound around all fingers !

The extent of the removal by cutting determines the grade of functionality or immobilization !

© Copyright by A.A.Wierzimok & TheWebEditor

Anlagetechnik Ulnarer 3 Finger-Handcast

Indikationen:

  • Frakturen der Finger und Metakarpale 3-5
  • Luxationen der Finger 3-5
  • Tendopathien
  • Sehnenverletzungen
  • Weichteilverletzungen
  • Lagerungsschiene
  • Physiotherapeutische Zwecke
Anlage: Die Vorbereitung der Materialien sollte eine zügige Anlage des Verbandes unterstützen. Alle benötigten Materialien sollten griffbereit positioniert werden um Verzögerungen im Ablauf zu vermeiden.

Die Lagerung des Patienten wird in einer für den Patienten und Anwender entspannenden Position durchgeführt. Dies kann je nach Ausmaß der Verletzung, der Diagnose , der Behandlungsmethode und des Patientenzustandes variieren.

Benötigtes Material: 1 x 5 cm Binde Delta Cast Conformable Polyester- Stützverband und hydrogel-beschichtete Casthandschuhe, Frotteeschlauchverband, Kohäsivbinde , 2 cm breiter Röntgenstreifen, Verbandschere, Filzstift.

Bild 1:
Der Frotteeschlauch wird als Unterpolsterung über Finger, Hand und Handgelenk gezogen. Als Schneidehilfe wurde zuvor ein Streifen eines unbrauchbaren Röntgenbildes radialseitig untergelegt. Für mehr punktuelle Stabilität (etwa zur Reposition einer dislozierten MHK 5 Köpfchenfraktur) wird ein 2 bis 4 lagiger Caststreifen dorso-volar umgreifend aufgelegt. Dies erhöht punktuell die Lagenstärke und führt an dieser Stelle zu einem Starrverband.

Bild 2:
Der Cast wird in zirkulären Touren ( ca. 2 bis 3 lagig ) um Finger, Hand und Handgelenk gewickelt. Dabei sollte der Cast relativ fest mit 50% bis 70% Dehnung appliziert werden. Dies erhöht den Lagenverbund und verbessert die Paßform des Verbandes. Distal sollte der Cast über die Fingerenden hinaus angelegt werden. Dies vereinfacht die spätere Stellungskorrektur der Gelenke. Im Bereich der zuvor aufgelegten Longuette summiert sich die Lagenstärke des Cast auf 6 bis 7 Lagen.

Bild 3:
Während der Modellierphase von vier bis sechs Minuten wird die Stellungskorrektur der Gelenke oder die Reposition einer Fraktur durchgeführt. Evtl. auftretenden Falten im Verband lassen sich durch Längszug am überschüssigen distalen und proximalen Cast glätten.

Bild 4:
Nach dem Abbinden des Castverbandes werden mit einem Filzstift die Randkonturen angezeichnet und der Verband entlang des untergelegten Röntgenstreifens mit einer Verbandschere geöffnet. Es erfolgt der individuelle Zurechtschnitt. Bei stabilen Frakturen kann der Verband dazu entfernt werden, bei instabilen Frakturen sollte der Verband dazu am Patienten belassen werden.

Bild 5:
Fertiger ulnarer 3 Finger-Handcast mit Einschluß des Handgelenkes in Intrinsic-Stellung (radiale Aufsicht).

Bild 6:
Fertiger ulnarer 3 Finger-Handcast mit Einschluß des Handgelenkes in Intrinsic-Stellung (ulnare Aufsicht).

Bild 7:
Durch Zurechtschnitt mit einer Verbandschere läßt sich der Cast jederzeit kürzen. Fertiger ulnarer 3 Finger-Handcast in Intrinsic-Stellung ohne Einschluß und damit voller Funktion des Handgelenkes.

Die Bilder 5,6 und 7 zeigen den selben Verband. In Bild 7 wurde des Cast nachträglich zurecht geschnitten. Beide Varianten lassen sich mit einer Kohäsivbinde am Patienten fixieren. (Hier nicht abgebildet). Aufgrund der geringen Lagenstärke bleibt der Verband semiflexibel und kann somit jedem Schwellungszustand individuell - weiter oder enger- angepaßt werden. Dazu wird die Kohäsivbinde entfernt und der Cast passgenau verändert.

1.
2.
3.
4.
5.
6.
7.
Varianten:

Ulnarer 3 Fingercast ohne Einschluß des Handgelenkes:
Hier wird der proximale Castanteil mit einer Verbandschere so zurecht geschnitten, daß das Handgelenk seine volle Funktion behält. (siehe Abb. 7)

3 Finger-Sandwichcast:
Hier wird der Cast proximal bis zu den Fingergrundgelenken gekürzt. Dies erlaubt eine uneingeschränkte Bewegung des Hangelenkes sowie der Finger im Grundgelenk.

Mittelhandcast:
Der Cast wird im distalen Teil bis zum Mittelgelenk oder Grundgelenk der Finger gekürzt. Dies erlaubt die Beweglichkeit der Finger.

  • Alle Varianten können von dem ursprünglichen, um alle Finger zirkulär gewickelten Cast, durch individuellen Zurechtschnitt erstellt werden.

Das Ausmaß des Zuschnitts erlaubt den Grad der Funktionalität oder der Immobilisation.

© Copyright by A.A.Wierzimok & TheWebEditor