Application Technique Upper Arm Cast / Elbow Brace

Indications:

  • Fractures of the elbow.
  • Dislocations of the elbow.
  • Fractures of the lower arm.
  • Tendopathy.
  • Tendon ans ligament injuries.
  • Soft tissue injuries.
  • Positioning splint.
  • Physio purposes.
Application: The materials should be pre-prepared to enable rapid application of the bandage. All the necessary materials should be placed within reach to avoid hold-ups in the procedure.

The patient should be in a position which is comfortable to him/her and the person applying the bandage. This may vary depending on the extent of the injury, the diagnosis, the treatment method and the patient's condition.

Materials required: 1 x 5 cm and 1 x 7.5 cm Delta Cast Conformable polyester support bandages and hydrogel-coated casting gloves, adhesive bandage, toweling tubular bandage, self-adhesive fleece padding, bandage scissors, strapping, velcro tape (e.g. Orthoplast T&C), felt-tip pen, approximately 2 cm wide strip of X-ray film.

Photo 1:
The toweling tubular bandage is slipped over the hand, forearm and upper arm to protect the skin. To help with the cutting a narrow strip of unusable X-ray film is inserted beforehand. The self-adhesive fleece padding is applied to the basal thumb joint. In order to improve stability whilst maintaining the flexibility of the cast in the elbow area, a cast strip of about 3 layers produced from the 5 cm cast bandage is applied to the inner side.

Photo 2:
Starting with the 5 cm cast bandage, 2 to 3 layers are wrapped around from the hand joint upwards to the elbow. The 7.5 cm cast bandage is then wrapped around as far as the shoulder. In order to optimize the fit and bonding of the layers, the cast should be applied relatively tightly, extending it by 50% to 70%.

Photo 3:
The cast is molded for approximately 4-6 minutes. The cutting lines are then marked with a felt-tip pen. The cast is opened along the inserted strip of X-ray film using the bandage scissors and trimmed for individual fit. A notch is cut into the cast in the upper arm area in order to prevent movement of the cut edges after re-application. A large part is cut out from the elbow area to simplify the removal and re-application of the cast for checks and makes it easier to examine the injury or carry out cold therapies. The cast still retains its stability because of the longuette inserted on the inner side.

Photo 4:
The fit of the cast on the patient is then checked. A dressing which has been applied too tightly loosens by itself after opening.
If necessary, the cast can be additionally loosened by bending it open. The cast is held in place with tape to suit the patient.

Photo 5:
In order to produce an elbow brace from the finished upper arm cast, the distal part of the cast is cut off using bandage scissors. The elbow brace allows gentle rotation of the forearm whilst maintaining immobilization of abduction and adduction. Velcro tape is best method of attaching it to the patient.
An elbow brace can of course be produced direct. To do this, the cast is applied as described above but not including the wrist.

Photo 6:
The upper arm cast is attached using adhesive bandage taking into account the state of the swelling. The small number of layers means that the cast remains semi-flexible and can be adjusted depending on the individual state of the swelling (looser or tighter). To do this, the adhesive bandage is removed and the cast altered for a perfect fit. Re-application is carried out as described above. This procedure can be repeated throughout the treatment period.

1.
2.
3.
4.
5.
6.
Variant:

Elbow brace: Through cutting at the distal end the supination and pronation of the lower arm can be allowed in different grades, while the flexion and extension stay restricted. The use of Hook & Loop strips ease the removal and refitting. (See also: Pict:5).

© Copyright by A.A.Wierzimok & TheWebEditor

Anlagetechnik Oberarmverband / Ellbogen Brace

Indikationen:

  • Frakturen im Ellbogenbereich
  • Luxationen im Ellbogenbereich
  • Frakturen in Unterarmbereich
  • Tendopathien
  • Bänder- und Sehnenverletzungen
  • Weichteilverletzungen
  • Lagerungsschiene
  • Physiotherapeutische Zwecke
Anlage: Die Vorbereitung der Materialien sollte eine zügige Anlage des Verbandes unterstützen. Alle benötigten Materialien sollten griffbereit positioniert werden um Verzögerungen im Ablauf zu vermeiden.

Die Lagerung des Patienten wird in einer für den Patienten und Anwender entspannenden Position durchgeführt. Dies kann je nach Ausmaß der Verletzung, der Diagnose , der Behandlungsmethode und des Patientenzustandes variieren.

Benötigtes Material: 1x 5cm und 1x 7,5cm Binde Delta Cast Conformable Polyester-Stützverband und hydrogel-beschichtetet Casthandschuhe, Kohäsivbinde, Frotteeschlauchverband, selbstklebendes Polstervlies, Verbandschere, Tapeverband, Klettband ( z. B. Orthoplast T&C), Filzstift, ca. 2cm breiter Röntgenfilmstreifen.

Bild 1:
Der Frotteerschlauchverband wird als Hautschutz über Hand, Unterarm und Oberarm gestreift. Als Schneidehilfe wurde vorher ein schmaler Streifen eines unbrauchbaren Röntgenbildes untergelegt. Das Daumengrundgelenk wird mit dem selbszklebenden Polstervlies umklebt. Um eine erhöhte Stabilität bei gleichzeitiger Flexibilität des Castverbandes im Ellbogenbereich zu erreichen, wird ein ca. 3 lagiger Caststreifen volarseitig aufgelegt, der aus der 5 cm Castbinde gefertigt wurde.

Bild 2:
Beginnend mit der 5 cm Castbinde wird der Verband von Handgelenk aufwärts 2 bis 3 lagig bis zum Ellbogen gewickelt. Danach wird die die 7,5 cm Castbinde bis zur Schulter hin gewickelt. Um die Passform und den Lagenverbund zu optimieren, sollte der Cast relativ fest mit 50%-70% Dehnung appliziert werden.

Bild 3:
Der Castverband wird ca 4-6 Minuten anmodelliert. Danach werden die Schnittkonturen mit einem Filzstift angezeichnet. Der Verband wird entlang des untergelegten Röntgenstreifens mit einer Verbandschere eröffnet und individuell zurecht geschnitten. Um ein Verschieben der Schnittstellen nach Wiederanlage zu vermeiden wird im Oberarmbereich eine Zacke in den Cast geschnitten. Im Ellbogenbereich wird der Cast großzügig ausgeschnitten. Dies erleichtert die Ab- und Wiederanlage des Verbandes bei Kontrollen und vereinfacht eventuelle Wundkontrollen oder Kältetherapien. Durch die volar eingelegte Longuette behält der Castverband dennoch seine Stabilität.

Bild 4:
Es erfolgt die Passkontrolle des Cast am Patienten. Ein evtl. zu eng applizierter Verband lockert sich nach Spaltung von alleine. Gegebenenfalls kann der Cast durch aufbiegen zusätzlich geweitet werden. Der Verband wird patientenorientiert mit Tape vorfixiert.

Bild 5:
Um aus dem fertigen Oberarmcastverband einen Ellbogen - Brace zu erstellen, wird der distale Castanteil mit einer Verbandschere abgeschnitten. Der Ellbogen-Brace ermöglicht eine leichte Rotationsbewegung des Unterarmes bei gleichzeitiger Immobilisation der Abduktion und Adduktion. Zur Fixierung am Patienten eignet sich hervorragend Klettband. Selbstverständlich läßt sich auch direkt eine Ellbogen- Brace erstellen. Dabei wird der Cast wie ober beschrieben appliziert, ohne das Handgelenk mit einzubeziehen.

Bild 6:
Der fertige Oberarmcast wird dem Schwellungszustand entsprechend mit einer Kohäsivbinde fixiert. Aufgrund der geringen Lagenstärke bleibt der Verband semiflexibel und kann somit jedem Schwellungszustand individuell - weiter oder enger - angepaßt werden. Dazu wird die Kohäsivbinde entfernt und der Cast paßgenau verändert. Die Wiederanlage des Verbandes wird wie oben beschrieben Diese Vorgehensweise kann während der gesamten Behandlungsdauer wiederholt werden.

1.
2.
3.
4.
5.
6.
Variante:

Ellbogen Brace:
Durch Zuschnitt am distalen Ende wird die Supination und Pronation des Unterarmes dosiert ermöglicht. Die Flexion und Extension bleibt dabei eingeschränkt. Das Anbringen von Klettband erleichtert die An und Wiederabnahme des Verbandes (siehe Abbildung 5)

© Copyright by A.A.Wierzimok & TheWebEditor