Application Technique Inner Forearm splint with finger support

Indications:

  • Fractures of the carpals or wrist area.
  • Distorsions.
  • Tendopathy.
  • Tendon and ligament injuries.
  • Soft tissue injuries.
  • Positioning splint.
  • Physio purposes.
Application: The materials should be pre-prepared to enable rapid application of the bandage. All the necessary materials should be placed within reach to avoid hold-ups in the procedure.

The patient should be in a position which is comfortable to him/her and the person applying the bandage. This may vary depending on the extent of the injury, the diagnosis, the treatment method and the patient's condition.

Materials required: 1 x 5 cm Delta Cast Conformable polyester support bandage and hydrogel-coated casting gloves, toweling tubular bandage, adhesive bandage, 2 cm wide strip of X-ray film, bandage scissors, felt-tip pen.

Photo 1:
The toweling tubular bandage is pulled over the fingers, hand and forearm to form a layer of padding underneath. A strip of unusable X-ray film is inserted to help with the cutting. To improve the stability in the area of the finger splint, a 2 to 3 layer strip of cast is applied to the inner side.

Photo 2:
The cast is wrapped around the fingers, hand and forearm using circular movements (about 2 to 3 layers). The cast should be applied relatively tightly, extending it by 50% to 70%. This increases the bonding of the layers and improves the fit of the dressing.

Photo 3:
The dressing is molded to the forearm and hand area for four to six minutes. The position of the joints can be corrected at this stage. Any folds in the cast can be smoothed out by pulling lengthwise at both ends of the cast

Photo 4:
The cutting lines are marked with a felt-tip pen and the dressing opened along the strip of X-ray film.

Photo 5:
The cast is then trimmed for individual fit using bandage scissors. A large amount of the cast is removed on the outer side. So that the dressing retains its stability, the cast should grip the sides of the forearm. If too much is cut out at the side of the dressing, the stability will be reduced. The fit of the cast on the patient is then checked.

Photo 6:
The cast is fixed to the forearm with an adhesive bandage taking into account the state of the swelling.

The small number of layers means that the cast remains semi-flexible and can be adjusted depending on the individual state of the swelling (looser or tighter). To do this, the adhesive bandage is removed and the cast altered for a perfect fit.

1.
2.
3.
4.
5.
6.
Variant:

Short inner forearm splint with finger support: Here the proximal part gets cut with bandage scissors or left out directly at the time of application.

Dorsal forearm splint with finger-inclusion: Here the underlying cast-splint gets positioned dorsaly, not volar, and split volar.

Kleinert-cast: Here a dorsal cast-splint in the specific position of Kleinert gets created. Then the cast gets cut generously in the palmar finger region. The rubber band gets fixed to the cohesive bandage in the physiological movement direction of the fingers.

Through cutting with bandage scissors in the finger area it is possible to create different finger rests, which allow for more functionality !

© Copyright by A.A.Wierzimok & TheWebEditor

Anlagetechnik Volare Unterarmschiene mit Fingerauflage

Indikationen:

  • Frakturen im handgelenksnahen und Handwurzelbereich
  • Distorsionen
  • Tendopathien
  • Sehnen- und Bandverletzungen
  • Weichteilverletzungen
  • Lagerungsschiene
  • Physiotherapeutische Zwecke
Anlage: Die Vorbereitung der Materialien sollte eine zügige Anlage des Verbandes unterstützen. Alle benötigten Materialien sollten griffbereit positioniert werden um Verzögerungen im Ablauf zu vermeiden.

Die Lagerung des Patienten wird in einer für den Patienten und Anwender entspannenden Position durchgeführt. Dies kann je nach Ausmaß der Verletzung, der Diagnose , der Behandlungsmethode und des Patientenzustandes variieren.

Benötigtes Material: 1 x 5 cm Binde Delta Cast Conformable Polyester- Stützverband und hydrogel-beschichtete Casthandschuhe, Frotteeschlauchverband, Kohäsivbinde , 2 cm breiter Röntgenstreifen, Verbandschere, Filzstift

Bild 1:
Der Frotteeschlauch wird als Unterpolsterung über Finger, Hand und Unterarm gezogen. Als Schneidehilfe wurde zuvor ein Streifen eines unbrauchbaren Röntgenbildes untergelegt. Um mehr Stabilität für die aufliegenden Finger zu erzielen, wird ein 2 bis 3 lagiger Caststreifen volarseitig aufgelegt.

Bild 2:
Der Cast wird in zirkulären Touren ( ca. 2 bis 3 lagig ) um Finger, Hand und Unterarm gewickelt. Dabei sollte der Cast relativ fest mit 50% bis 70% Dehnung appliziert werden. Dies erhöht den Lagenverbund und verbessert die Paßform des Verbandes.

Bild 3:
Der Verband wird ca. vier bis sechs Minuten am Unterarm und Handbereich modelliert. Stellungskorrekturen der Gelenke können durchgeführt werden. Dabei evtl. auftretende Falten im Cast lassen sich durch Längszug am proximalen und distalen Castende glätten.

Bild 4:
Mit einem Filzstift werden die Schnittkonturen angezeichnet und der Cast entlang des untergelegten Röntgenstreifens dorsalseitig geöffnet.

Bild 5:
Es erfolgt der individuelle Zurechtschnitt mit einer Verbandschere. Dorsalseitig wird der Cast großzügig entfernt. Damit der Verband seine Stabilität bewahrt, sollte der Cast seitlich den Unterarm umgreifend erhalten bleiben. Ein seitlich zu weit ausgeschnittener Verband verliert seine hohe Stabilität. Anschließend erfolgt die Passkontrollle am Patienten.

Bild 6:
Der Cast wird dem Schwellungszustand entsprechend mit einer Kohäsivbinde am Unterarm fixiert.

Aufgrund der geringen Lagenstärke bleibt der Verband semiflexibel und kann somit jedem Schwellungszustand individuell - weiter oder enger- angepaßt werden. Dazu wird die Kohäsivbinde entfernt und der Cast passgenau verändert.

1.
2.
3.
4.
5.
6.
Varianten:

Kurze volare Castschiene mit Fingerauflage:
Hier wird durch Zurückschnitt ( oder bei der Castanlage direkt) mit einer Verbandschere der proximale Castanteil gekürzt.

Dorsale Castschiene mit Fingereinschluß:
Hier wird der untergelegte Casttreifen nicht volar sondern dorsal aufgelegt und der Cast volarseitig gespalten.

Kleinertverband:
Hier wird eine dorsale Castschiene in der spezifischen Gelenkstellung nach Kleinert erstellt. In der palmare Fingerregion wir der Cast großzügig herausgeschnitten. Der Gummizug wird in physiologischer Bewegungsrichtung der Finger an der Kohäsivbinde fixiert.

Durch Zuschnitt mit einer Verbandschere im Fingerbereich lassen sich individuell, verschiedene Fingerauflagen erstellen die mehr Funktionalität ermöglichen.

© Copyright by A.A.Wierzimok & TheWebEditor