Application Technique Ankle Brace

Indications:

  • Fibular ligament rupture.
  • Ligament strain of an ankle.
  • Distorsion of the ankle.
  • Avulsion of ligaments after distorsion.
  • Weber A fracture.
  • Positioning splint.
  • Physio purposes.
Application: The materials should be pre-prepared to enable rapid application of the bandage. All the necessary materials should be placed within reach to avoid hold-ups in the procedure.

The patient should be in a position which is comfortable to him/her and the person applying the bandage. This may vary depending on the extent of the injury, the diagnosis, the treatment method and the patient's condition.

Materials required: 1 x 7.5 cm Delta Cast Conformable polyester support bandage and hydrogel-coated casting gloves, toweling tubular bandage, self-adhesive fleece padding, adhesive bandage or velcro tape, bandage scissors, felt-tip pen.

Photo 1:
The toweling tubular bandage is applied to form a layer of padding underneath. A strip of fleece padding is inserted on the outer side to help with the cutting. A U-shaped section of fleece is applied to the ankle bones for additional padding.

Photo 2:
A 2-layer longuette is produced from the cast bandage and applied as a stirrup as shown. It may be of help if the patient holds the longuette firmly and pulls it upwards.

Photo 3:
The cast longuette is held in place using the remaining cast bandage (1 to 2 layers). The cast should be applied relatively tightly (extending it by about 50 to 70%). This helps to achieve the best fit and bonding of the layers. The cast is then molded to the foot and ankle joint for four to six minutes.

Photo 4:
Following the molding phase the cutting lines are marked and the cast opened on the outer side using bandage scissors. If the cast has been applied too tightly it will loosen by itself after opening (special feature of Delta Cast Conformable). The cast is removed and trimmed for individual fit. This involves cutting a large section out of the heel part making it easier to wear normal shoes. A narrow bridging section is left at the back to help with re-application and improve the comfort for the patient. It can be cut away at any time if necessary. In order to maintain unrestricted rotation movement for the foot, part of the cast is cut away on the outer side.

Photo 5:
The fit of the cast on the patient is then checked. A sole cast extending further along the area above the foot restricts rotation more so than a short and narrow bridging section. It can be shortened using bandage scissors at any time.

Photo 5a:
The rear view of the Ankle Brace shows how it is trimmed for individual fit.

Photo 6:
The Ankle Brace is fixed in place with an adhesive bandage or velcro tape taking into account the state of swelling. The patient can wear a cotton sock under the cast to improve the comfort. Normal shoes can be worn.
The small number of layers means that the cast remains semi-flexible and can be adjusted depending on the individual state of the swelling (looser or tighter). To do this, the adhesive bandage is removed and the cast altered for a perfect fit and re-applied using an adhesive bandage or velcro tape.

1.
2.
3.
4.
5.
5a.
6.
Variant:

Combicast: Combination of ankle brace and metatarsalshoe.
This variant allows the plantar and dorsal flexion of the foot, while totally restricting the supination and pronation. (see metatarsalshoe). Here the cast is applied up to the base joints of the toes and then split dorsaly. The cast then gets cut to leave a plantar footplate that reaches to the end of the toes. In the area of the distal forefoot a 2 cm wide cast strip is kept.

© Copyright by A.A.Wierzimok & TheWebEditor

Anlagetechnik Ankle Brace

Indikationen:

  • Fibulare Bandruptur
  • Bänderdehnung am oberen Sprunggelenk
  • Distorsion des oberen Sprunggelenk
  • Knöcherner Bandausriss nach Distorsionstrauma
  • Weber A - Fraktur
  • Lagerungsschiene
  • Physiotherapeutische Zwecke
Anlage: Die Vorbereitung der Materialien sollte eine zügige Anlage des Verbandes unterstützen. Alle benötigten Materialien sollten griffbereit positioniert werden um Verzögerungen im Ablauf zu vermeiden.

Die Lagerung des Patienten wird in einer für den Patienten und Anwender entspannenden Position durchgeführt. Dies kann je nach Ausmaß der Verletzung, der Diagnose , der Behandlungsmethode und des Patientenzustandes variieren.

Benötigtes Material: 1x 7,5cm Binde Delta Cast Conformable Polyester-Stützverband und hydrogel-beschichtetet Casthandschuhe Frotteeschlauch, selbstklebendes Polstervlies, Kohäsivbinde oder Klettband, Verbandschere, Filzstift

Bild 1:
Der Frotteeschlauch wird als Unterpolsterung angelegt. Als Schneidehilfe wurde zuvor ein schmaler Streifen Polstervlies dorsalseitig untergelegt. Die Malleolen werden zusätzlich mit dem selbstklebenden Polstervlies U-förmig negativ gepolstert.

Bild 2:
Aus der Castbinde wird eine 2-lagige Longuette gefertigt und wie abgebildet als Steigbügel aufgelegt. Dabei kann es hilfreich sein wenn der Patient die Longuette festhält und hochzieht.

Bild 3:
Die Castlonguette wird mit dem Rest der Castbinde (1 bis 2-lagig) fixiert. Der Cast sollte relativ fest appliziert werden (ca. 50 bis 70% Dehnung). Dadurch optimieren sich die Paßform und der Lagenverbund. Danach wird der Cast vier bis sechs Minuten dem Fuß und dem Sprunggelenkbereich anmodelliert.

Bild 4:
Nach der Modellierphase werden die Randkonturen angezeichnet und der Verband dorsalseitig mit einer Verbandschere eröffnet. Ein evtl. zu eng applizierter Verband lockert sich nach Spaltung von alleine (besondere Eigenschaft von Delta Cast Conformable). Der Verband wird entfernt und individuell zurechtgeschnitten. Dabei wird die Ferrsenpartie großzügig herausgeschnitten. Dies erleichtert das Tragen von normalen Schuhen. Ein im hinteren Anteil belassener Steg erleichtert die Wiederanlage und erhöht den Tragekomfort für den Patienten. Er kann bei Bedarf jederzeit weggeschnitten werden. Um eine uneingeschränkte Abrollbewegung des Fußes zu ermöglichen wird der Castteil am dorsalseitigen Fuß herausgeschnitten.

Bild 5:
Anschließen erfolgt die Paßkontrolle am Patienten. Eine plantare Castsohle, die weiter in den Vorfußbereich reicht, schränkt die Supination stärker ein als ein kurzer und schmaler Steg. Gegebenenfalls ist das Kürzen mit einer Verbandschere jederzeit möglich.

Bild 5a:
Die Rückansicht des Ankle Brace zeigt den individuellen Zurechtschnitt.

Bild 6:
Der Ankle Brace wird dem Schwellungszustand entsprechend mit einer Kohäsivbinde oder mit Klettband fixiert. Um den Tragekomfort zu verbessern, kann der Patient unter dem Cast einen Baumwollsocken tragen. Das tragen von normalen Schuhwerk ist möglich.
Aufgrund der geringen Lagenstärke bleibt der Verband semiflexibel und kann somit jedem Schwellungszustand individuell - weiter oder enger - angepaßt werden. Dazu wird die Kohäsivbinde entfernt, der Cast paßgenau verändert und erneut mit einer Kohäsivbinde oder Klettband fixiert.

1.
2.
3.
4.
5.
5a.
6.
Variante:

Kombicast:
Kombination aus Ankle Brace und.Metatarsalschuh
Diese Variante ermöglicht die Plantarflexion und Dorsalflexion des Fußes bei völliger eingeschränkter Supination und Pronation. (siehe auch Metatarsalschuh).Hierbei wird der Cast bis zu den Zehengrundgelenken gewicklet und dorsalseitig gespalten. Der Zurechtschnitt beläßt eine plantare, bis zu den Zehenendgliedern reichende Fußplatte. Im distalen Vorfußbereich bleibt ein ca. 2cm breiter Caststreifen erhalten.

© Copyright by A.A.Wierzimok & TheWebEditor