Application Technique Metatarsal Shoe

Indications:

  • Fractures of the forefoot and metatarsal.
  • Diabetic forefoot gangrene.
  • Positioning splint.
  • Physio purposes.
Application: The materials should be pre-prepared to enable rapid application of the bandage. All the necessary materials should be placed within reach to avoid hold-ups in the procedure.

The patient should be in a position which is comfortable to him/her and the person applying the bandage. This may vary depending on the extent of the injury, the diagnosis, the treatment method and the patient's condition.

Materials required: 1 x 5 cm Delta Cast Conformable polyester support bandage and hydrogel-coated casting gloves, toweling tubular bandage, fleece padding, adhesive bandage, bandage scissors, felt-tip pen.

Photo 1:
The toweling tubular bandage is pulled over the foot and ankle joint to form a layer of padding underneath. A narrow strip of fleece padding is inserted on the outer side beforehand to help with the cutting. In order to achieve maximum stability in the middle foot area, a three-layer ready prepared longuette is applied to the sole (1 layer in the heel area), starting at the basal toe joints.

Photo 2:
The cast is applied using circular movements, in two to three layers from the toes ending above the ankle joint. The cast should be wrapped around relatively tightly, extending it by about 70%. This achieves the best fit and bonding of the layers.

Photo 3:
The cast is molded to the arch of the foot for four to six minutes. Corrections of position or cast corrections can be carried out at this stage. Any folds in the cast can be easily smoothed out by pulling the distal end of the cast lengthwise.

Photo 4:
Following the molding phase, the cutting lines are marked with a felt-tip pen and the dressing opened on the outer side, along the inserted fleece strip, using bandage scissors. If a dressing has been applied too tightly, it loosens by itself after opening (special feature of Delta Cast Conformable).

Photo 5:
The dressing is removed and trimmed for individual fit. The fit of the cast on the patient is then checked.

Photo 6:
The cast is fixed in place using an adhesive bandage ending above the ankle joint, taking into account the state of the swelling.

The small number of layers means that the cast remains semi-flexible and can be adjusted depending on the individual state of the swelling (looser or tighter). To do this, the adhesive bandage is removed and the cast altered for a perfect fit. Re-application is carried out as described above.

1.
2.
3.
4.
5.
6.
Variant:

Combicast: Combination of metatarsalshoe and ankle brace. This variant allows for plantar and dorsal flexion with reduced supination and pronation.
The cast is applied up to 15 cm above the ankle. This proximal extension is cut like an ankle brace.

© Copyright by A.A.Wierzimok & TheWebEditor

Anlagetechnik Metatarsalschuh

Indikationen:

  • Frakturen im Vor- und Mittelfußbereich
  • Diabetisches Vorfußgangrän
  • Lagerungsschiene
  • Physiotherapeutische Zwecke
Anlage: Die Vorbereitung der Materialien sollte eine zügige Anlage des Verbandes unterstützen. Alle benötigten Materialien sollten griffbereit positioniert werden um Verzögerungen im Ablauf zu vermeiden.

Die Lagerung des Patienten wird in einer für den Patienten und Anwender entspannenden Position durchgeführt. Dies kann je nach Ausmaß der Verletzung, der Diagnose , der Behandlungsmethode und des Patientenzustandes variieren.

Benötigtes Material: 1 x 10 cm Binde Delta Cast Conformable Polyester- Stützverband und hydrogel-beschichtete Casthandschuhe, Frotteeschlauchverband, Polstervlies, Kohäsivbinde , Verbandschere, Filzstift.

Bild 1:
Der Frotteeschlauch wird als Unterpolsterung über Fuß und Sprunggelenk gezogen. Als Schneidehilfe wurde zuvor ein schmaler Streifen Polstervlies dorsal untergelegt. Um eine hohe Stabilität im Mittelfußbereich zu erhalten, wird eine dreilagige selbstgefertigte Longuette ( im Fersenbereich 1 lagig), beginnend an den Zehengrundgelenken, plantarseitig angelegt.

Bild 2:
Der Cast wird in zirkulären Touren, zwei bis drei lagig mit Einschluß der Zehen bis oberhalb des Sprunggelenkes gewickelt. Dabei sollte der Cast relativ fest, mit ca. 70% Dehnung gewickelt werden. Dies optimiert die Paßform und den Lagenverbund des Vebandes.

Bild 3:
Der Verband wird vier bis sechs Minuten dem Fußgewölbe anmodelliert. Stellungskorrekturen oder Korrekturen am Cast sind möglich. Durch Längszug am distalen Castende lassen sich evtl. Falten im Cast problemlos glätten.

Bild 4:
Nach der Modellierphase werden mit einem Filzstift die Schnittkonturen angezeichnet und der Verband dorsal, entlang des untergelegten Vliesstreifens, mit einer Verbandschere eröffnet. Ein evtl. zu eng applizierter Verband lockert sich nach Spaltung von alleine ( besondere Eigenschaft von DCC)

Bild 5:
Der Verband wird entfernt und individuell zugeschnitten. Anschließend erfolgt die Paßkontrolle am Patienten.

Bild 6:
Der Cast wird dem Schwellungszustand entsprechend mit einer Kohäsivbinde bis oberhalb des Sprunggelenkes fixiert.

Aufgrund der geringen Lagenstärke im dorsalen Bereich bleibt der Verband semiflexibel und kann somit jedem Schwellungszustand individuell (weiter oder enger) angepaßt werden. Dazu wird die Kohäsivbinde entfernt und der Cast paßgenau verändert. Die Wiederanlage wird wie oben beschrieben durchgeführt.

1.
2.
3.
4.
5.
6.
Variante:

Kombicast:
Kombination aus Metatarsalschuh und Ankle Brace.
Diese Variante ermöglicht die Plantarflexion und Dorsalflexion des Fußes bei eingeschränkter Supination und Pronation. Bei der Anlage wird der Cast bis ca 15cm oberhalb das OSG gewickelt. Die so entstandene proximale Verlängerung wird wie beim Ankle Brace zurechtgeschnitten.

© Copyright by A.A.Wierzimok & TheWebEditor