Application Technique Tibia Brace

Indications:

  • Diaphys. tibia fractures.
  • Diaphys. fibula fractures.
  • Diaphys. fractures of the lower leg.
  • Positioning splint.
  • Physio purposes.
Application: The materials should be pre-prepared to enable rapid application of the bandage. All the necessary materials should be placed within reach to avoid hold-ups in the procedure.

The patient should be in a position which is comfortable to him/her and the person applying the bandage. This may vary depending on the extent of the injury, the diagnosis, the treatment method and the patient's condition.

Materials required: 1x 10 cm Delta Cast Conformable polyester support bandage and hydrogel-coated casting gloves, toweling tubular bandage, self-adhesive fleece padding, velcro tape (Orthoplast T&C), gauze bandage, 2 cm wide strip of X-ray film, bandage scissors, felt-tip pen.

Photo 1:
The toweling tubular bandage is pulled over the lower leg to form a layer of padding underneath. A strip of unusable X-ray film about 2 cm wide is inserted in the calf area beforehand to help with the cutting. The fleece padding is secured along the front edge of the tibia.

Photo 2:
The cast is applied around the calf using circular movements relatively tightly extending it by 50% to 70%. 3 to 4 layers are applied in the fracture area and 2 layers in the distal and proximal areas. The compressing effect of the cast bandage produces the best fit and bonding of the layers.

Photo 3:
The velcro tape is applied to the still damp cast and held in place with a wet gauze bandage. During the hardening phase the still wet cast adheres to the velcro tape thus avoiding the need to attach the velcro tape with adhesive or rivets later. The gauze bandage is then removed.

Photo 4:
The cast is molded for four to six minutes. The distal and proximal ends of the dressing are marked with a felt-tip pen and the cast is opened along the inserted strip of X-ray film using bandage scissors. The cast is trimmed for individual fit.

Photo 5:
After checking for a perfect fit, the finished Tibia Brace is applied to the patient. The positioning of a brace cast has to be checked daily for accuracy and the use of velcro tape makes it easier to adjust and fix the cast in place. The small number of layers means that the cast remains semi-flexible and can be adjusted depending on the individual state of the swelling (looser or tighter).

1.
2.
3.
4.
5.
© Copyright by A.A.Wierzimok & TheWebEditor

Anlagetechnik Tibia Brace

Indikationen:

  • Diaphysäre Tibiafrakturen
  • Diaphysäre Fibulafrakturen
  • Diaphysäre Unterschenkelfrakturen
  • Lagerungsschiene
  • Physiotherapeutische Zwecke
Anlage: Die Vorbereitung der Materialien sollte eine zügige Anlage des Verbandes unterstützen. Alle benötigten Materialien sollten griffbereit positioniert werden um Verzögerungen im Ablauf zu vermeiden.

Die Lagerung des Patienten wird in einer für den Patienten und Anwender entspannenden Position durchgeführt. Dies kann je nach Ausmaß der Verletzung, der Diagnose , der Behandlungsmethode und des Patientenzustandes variieren.

Benötigtes Material: 1x 10cm Delta Cast Conformable Polyester Stützverband, hydrogel beschichtete Casthandschuhe, Frotteeschlauch, selbstklebendes Polstervlies, Klettband ( Orthoplast T&C), Mullbinde, 2 cm breiter Röntgenstreifen, Verbandschere, Filzstift

Bild 1:
Der Frotteeschlauch wird als Unterpolsterung über den Unterschenkel gezogen. Als Schneidehilfe wurde zuvor ein ca. 2 cm breiter Streifen eines unbrauchbaren Röntgenbildes im Wadenbereich untergelegt. Das Polstervlies wird entlang der Tibiavorderkante aufgeklebt.

Bild 2:
Der Cast wird in zirkulären Touren relativ fest mit 50% bis 70% Dehnung um den Unterschenkel gewickelt. Im Frakturbereich werden dabei 3 bis 4 Lagen, im distalen und proximalen Bereich 2 Lagen appliziert. Durch die komprimierende Anlage des Castverbandes optimiert sich der Lagenverbund und die Passform des Verbandes.

Bild 3:
Das Klettband wird auf den noch feuchten Cast gelegt und mit einer nassen Mullbinde fixiert. Der noch nasse Cast verklebt in der Aushärtungsphase mit dem Klettband, wodurch eine nachträgliche Befestigung des Klettbandes mit Klebstoff oder mit Nieten entfällt. Danach wird die Mullbinde wieder entfernt.

Bild 4:
Der Cast wird vier bis sechs Minuten modelliert. Mit einem Filzstift werden die distalen und proximalen Enden des Verbandes markiert und der Cast entlang des untergelegten Röntgenstreifens mit einer Verbandschere geöffnet. Der Cast wird individuell zurecht geschnitten.

Bild 5:
Nach Überprüfung der exakten Passform wird der fertige Tibia Brace am Patienten angelegt. Da ein Braceverband täglich auf seinen exakten Sitz überprüft werden sollte, erleichtert die Verwendung von Klettband zum Justieren und Fixieren des Verbandes das Handling. Aufgrund der geringen Lagenstärke bleibt der Verband semiflexibel und kann somit jedem Schwellungszustand individuell - weiter oder enger- angepaßt werden.

1.
2.
3.
4.
5.
© Copyright by A.A.Wierzimok & TheWebEditor